10:23 Homeopathic Overdose Event – Sydney

Took part in my very first act of skeptical activism today at the 10:23 Homeopathic Overdose event in Sydney.  The aim of the event was quite simple to show that homeopathic medication is just sugar and water and therefore totally ineffective by overdosing on homeopathic sleeping pills.

The directions for use on the back of the packet

Armed with about 40 pills each.  We staged our overdose in front of the chemist who sold us the medication.

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m the chick hiding up the back (me and cameras don’t play nicely).

We all survived with no signs of sleepiness whatsoever, except for James, who blamed it on having to get up at 6am on a Saturday morning.

The only effect most of us got was a rather large sugar high.

Looking forward to seeing the results of the UK 10:23 Homeopathy Overdose events that are taking place in front of Boots chemist stores across the UK to protest against their production and sale of homeopathic medication.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
8 responses to “10:23 Homeopathic Overdose Event – Sydney

  1. Thanks for the update on this. I wouldn’t expect the main stream media to highlight the fraud behind these tablets.

    You would have more chance of a TV putting you to sleep than homeopathic sleeping pills.

    I especially like the phrase under Active Ingredients on the back of the packet: “Each glucose tablet”.

    It would explain the rather large sugar high that most of you experienced.

    I hope James is alright :)

    • Richard Saunders was contacted by a journalist at the Daily Telegraph this morning who seemed very interested to come along and report on it, but she never showed.
      Hopefully we can be more organised next year and get a larger number of people overdosing and some media coverage.

  2. thats my old pharmacist that i used when i worked in the city! =)

  3. Well done Riayn.

    I was doing my best to be a part of it all but a newborn kept me at home.

    I did my bit and drank plenty of water. Felt a little dizzy but not too bad.

    • Hopefully next year you can come and join us. :)

      The dizziness is probably from the sugar high rather there being actually anything in the homeopathic pills.

  4. :-) Whoops….my sarcasm may not have got through. No dizzyness….just lots of water!

  5. heh. things like that would probably just give me the runs, resulting in less sleep ;)