Curious Minds: Mood Boosters

I am in a cranky mood of late.  Just plain cranky and generally unpleasant to be around.  It is not my normal state of being nor the way I like to be.  I have been trying to do things to boost my mood back to its vaguely sunny disposition or something more agreeable, but it is just not really working.

I find when I feel stressed music chills me out and when I am cranky and angry Amanda Palmer and The Dresden Dolls usually prevent me from exploding at people  (I’m listening to Yes Virginia as I type this – it’s been that kind of day).  Also, martial arts is a fabulous anger and stress reliever.  Punching bags is fabulous way to get out all that aggression and stress and you really can’t be angry when you are laying on the floor dying.  Therefore it is a very good thing I have a class tonight.

Still I am looking for other ways to boost my mood cause poor Amanda has been on high rotation for the past week and I don’t have a punching bag in the office, so what works for you to boost your mood when you are feeling cranky and/or stressed? I’m sure my co-workers will thank you.

9 responses to “Curious Minds: Mood Boosters

  1. Cash. Generally, the way I find my way out of a funk is spending money. Since I don’t actually have any money, I’m traditionally in a funk most of the time.

  2. Lately when I’ve been getting frustrated at work, I do one of two things: get up and go for a walk, even if it is just 5 minutes, getting out of the office is a good thing! Go get some vitamin D; or if a walk is not possible, take a deep breath, hold for 5 secs and let out slowly, repeat x 3….that and mutter creative combinations of curse words under my breath.

  3. 1. Cupcakes
    2. White chocolate
    3. Ben and Jerry’s Choc Chip Cookie Dough icecream
    4. repeat
    ;)

    • I thoroughly support the use of Ben & Jerry’s Choc chip cookie dough to make me feel better. However, for $12 a pint, I better feel better quickly or else this is going to be a costly exercise.

  4. Amanda Palmer has served me well over the past 5 years :)