Because I could not stop for Death

I love graveyards, morbid I know, but I find them really peaceful places. I also find it fascinating to read about people who were here long before I was.  I took this photo in the Louis I graveyard in New Orleans.  It was on top of a mausoleum containing the remains of a two year old boy called Larry.  I don’t know who Larry was or how he died, but this angel is a permanent reminder that he was here and he was loved and I find that deeply moving. There is part of me that hopes that when I die that there will be a small reminder for the generations that come that I was here.

Blog title comes from this quote by Emily Dickinson
Because I could not stop for Death,
He kindly stopped for me.
The Carriage held but just ourselves
And Immortality

Written for the Blog This Photographic Challenge
4 responses to “Because I could not stop for Death

  1. Beautiful post.

  2. Such an angelic memorial for a small boy.

  3. My parents also held that same facination for cemetries, wandering around, inhaling the history of whatever town they were in.

    I find myself broken hearted over them, especially those of the young. that photo is stunning, just beautiful. and so, so sad.

  4. harrowing. thoughtful. beautiful