The Jenny McCarthy Body Count

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and to share their opinion to everyone that they want to.  However, when you are a celebrity, for better or worse, your opinion carries more weight than the average person on the street.  Therefore, celebrities should think before they speak and should research their opinions before they relate them to the media.

Enter, Jenny McCarthy, a once minor celebrity on MTV and now a major anti-vaccination proponent.  She has a son with autism, which she attributes to childhood vaccinations.  She has appeared on Oprah numerous times since 2007 preaching the fact that vaccinations are dangerous and encouraging parents not to vaccinate their children.  Thanks to Jenny McCarthy and people like her, the rate of vaccination in the US and other developed countries has fallen to levels where previously rare diseases are making a comeback.  Jenny McCarthy has a body count to her name.

Oprah, you don’t get away scott free either.  You have given this quack a platform to preach her dangerous ideas to millions of parents worldwide. You  don’t offer any other viewpoint nor do you challenge her views.  Shame on you.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 responses to “The Jenny McCarthy Body Count

  1. Let me say 1st that my 3 kids are all vaccinated.
    I have heard Jenny McCarthy interviewed and i specifically remember her saying that she is not saying “don’t vaccinate” but that you can choose which vaccinations pose a threat. I would be devasted if my child died from a disease that was preventable, i would also be devasted if my child had autism and it was triggered by medication he may never have needed. I am also a skeptic…..
    i don’t believe skipping the MMR vaccination is the answer but i sure as hell don’t believe everything the medical companies put out as research either.

  2. Jodie,

    Sure,I don’t believe everything the companies put out, but I have yet to catch the JAMA/AMA espousing dangerous practices or preaching known falsehoods.

    Defining a vaccination (in particular, MMR) as ‘un-needed’ strikes me as.. um. .. yes, I think “dangerous” is the correct word.

    On one hand are many years of proven effectiveness – the incidence of M, M & R dropped significantly with the use of said vaccines. With the decline in use, the incidence of M, M, & R has sharply risen.

    On the other hand, there is (so far) zero.. absolutely no… big honkin’ goose egg.. correlation between vaccines and autism.

    I applaud you on getting your kids vaccinated, by the way. I’m glad to see it.

    Rainbow… I do have one small .. well.. complaint with your comments on this. You state that McCarthy has been “. . . preaching the fact that . . .”. I’m being a bit pedantic here, I’m sure.. but I’m unhappy with your use of the word ‘fact’ here. We all know this is NOT a fact.. it’s an idea. Calling it a fact (in the face of mountains of contrary evidence) lends it a small degree of validity. I’m quite confident that it’s unintentional, but… well… it’s a sneaky danger.

    As far as Oprah is conserned.. yeah, this is not the only bit of medicine she’s practicing… see her support of the gluten-free diet, too.

    • Good pick up Lurch. You are right, I should have never written a sentence that contained both “fact” and “Jenny McCarthy” in it.

  3. Oprah has lost her mind and her way. I, and many others in autism community, have lost respect for Oprah after she backed Jenny McCarthy. This illuminates something I didn’t know was part of Oprah’s character. Reckless disregard for truth. The one thing that links Oprah and Jenny is their strong New Age religious beliefs. Like many scientiologists, they believe they are better than everyone else and what they say is what is right. There’s another term for this, it’s called Narcississtic Personality Disorder. I think half of congress has this, as well.

  4. I, and many others in autism community, have lost respect for Oprah after she backed Jenny McCarthy. This illuminates something I didn’t know was part of Oprah’s character. Reckless disregard for truth. The one thing that links Oprah and Jenny is their strong New Age religious beliefs. Like many scientiologists, they believe they are better than everyone else and what they say is what is right. There’s another term for this, it’s called Narcississtic Personality Disorder. I think half of congress has this, as well.

  5. Jenny McCarthy’s son never had autism. Jenny McCarthy and Jim Carrey are fraudsters in the first f….degree man. Well, Jim probably doesn’t know what the hell he talkin’ bout, probably just gets off on sleeping wit the McCarthy and then is so elated he gets on TV and starts yammering on about things he don’t know much about….paaaattttheeeticc…what a bunch of backwards YippppeeeIOOOOOOOScrew U all.