New Orleans

The final instalment of my photos from my recent US trip (aren’t you all glad?)

New Orleans had a vibe all of its very own, very unlike any of the other cities I visited.  The weather was not to my liking, far too hot and humid, but the food was amazing – we had alligator, seafood gumbo and turtle soup.  The best part of my visit to New Orleans was a tour we did of Honey Island Swamp.  It was so beautiful and the wildlife was  a photographer’s dream.

As always, here are my favourite photos.

A rather handome alligator named Brutus who loves hot dogs and marshmallows

A rather handsome alligator named Brutus who loves hot dogs and marshmallows

Honey Island Swamp - I wasnt kidding about it being beautiful

Honey Island Swamp - I wasn't kidding about it being beautiful

Beignets aka French Donuts - so, so yummy.

Beignets aka French Donuts - so, so yummy.

Pirate Alley - and yes it is a real street

Pirate Alley - and yes it is a real street

St Louis I Cemetary

St Louis I Cemetary

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 responses to “New Orleans

  1. wow, look at that swamp – reminds me of the opening scene in The Muppet Movie
    What was your take on the rebuilding after Katrina?

    • The French Quarter where we were staying has been completely rebuilt to the point that you would never know that Katrina ever happened. However, East New Orleans is practically a ghost town with damaged houses and empty lots. Nothing has been done there at all. It was actually really depressing.