Washington DC

More photos from my recent trip to the US – this time from Washington DC.

Washington DC is a geek girl’s ultimate city.  It is full of the wonderful Smithsonian museums and they are all free.  I could have spent days visiting all the museums, but I limited myself to one day and visited the Museum of the Native American and the Museum of Natural History.  At the Museum of Natural History I got to attend their Forensic Anthropology lab and see their exhibit of the remains found at Jamestown.  Forensic Anthropology (or Osteology as it is called in Australia) was one of my subjects at university and the Smithsonian’s collection of skeletal remains were mentioned all the time, so I totally geeked out at being able to see some of them. I also geeked out at being able to see all monuments and Arlington National Cemetery.

My favourite photos from Washington DC are:

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery

The Smithsonian Museum Visitor Centre

The Smithsonian Museum Visitor Centre

The Jefferson Memorial

The Jefferson Memorial

Bronze Books from the statue to the man who wrote the Constitution (I cant remember his name but think it might be James Mason?)

Bronze Books from the statue to the man who wrote the Constitution (I can't remember his name but think it might be James Mason?)

Bronze stars on the National War Memorial

Bronze stars on the National War Memorial

2 responses to “Washington DC

  1. You are bringing back wonderful memories, I really enjoyed DC, fascinating museums and thoughtfully designed memorials are what I remember most.

  2. your camera did such a great job while you were away. noice shots! :)