Political Obsession

I admit it, I’m a nerd and worst than that, I am also a news junkie.  I love my news.  In fact,  I always have the Sydney Morning Herald website open in a tab whenever I am online both at work and at home.  What I really love is when news is presented in an intelligent and witty way, therefore it is no surprise that I am a huge fan of The Rachel Maddow Show.

The Rachel Maddow Show hosted by, you guessed it, Rachel Maddow,  is a one hour wrap up of the hottest political and top stories of the day.  It airs every night on MSNBC at 9pm ET.  Now, I know what you are all thinking, if you are living in Australia, how can you be watching a show that only airs in the US?  Well here is where technology is a wonderful thing – the full show is available as a free video podcast.  So each morning, I download the previous night’s show and watch it on my way to and from work.  It is a wonderful way to spend the commute being both entertained and informed by a gorgeous woman.

However, the downside of this obsession with TRMS is that I now know way more about American politics than I do about Australian politics. When I start making jokes about killing the elderly those around me think I am morbid rather than making sarcastic remarks about what Republicans are telling people about Obama’s health care reforms.  If you have no idea what I am talking about – watch this clip.  It is hysterical.

I wish we had an Australian version of Rachel Maddow to tackle political stories like Utegate.  A weekly show about the top stories in Aussie politics that was both fun and informative would be a dream come true.  In the unlikely event that any Aussie TV producers are reading this,  get this on TV now!  If you are looking for host,  then please consider Annabel Crabb.

She is intelligent, witty and has an amazing understanding of the political landscape in Australia.  Until my dream becomes a reality, I will have to make do with her columns on SMH and her tweets.   Does she do a podcast or a radio show?  Does anyone know?  I want witty, intelligent commentary about Aussie politics and news stories.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 responses to “Political Obsession

  1. I love Annabel Crabb. And everything she writes !

    • Great to see another fan of Annabel’s writing. I love people who can make politics interesting.

  2. Pingback: Political Obsession « Rainbow of Chaos | australianews