Exercise is dangerous for you

An Ice pack
Image via Wikipedia

As you all know, I have gotten into exercise in a big way over the past 6 months.  I have gradually (or not so gradually) built up from being a couch potato to doing 7 hours of Kung Fu and about 4 hours of dog walking/CrossFit/running etc a week.  I have gone from hating exercising to craving it. We are always told that exercise is a good thing and you should do as much of it as possible.  Well, I am here to tell you that exercise has a dark and dangerous side as I found out this week.  Last Tuesday I went for my brown belt in Kung Fu (and I passed!!), but during the warm up specifically running up and down the hall in bare feet, I felt something not right in my right foot. I ignored it and carried on and whilst the next day my foot was a little sore, it wasn’t enough to worry about.  I then did a training session on Thursday and another one on Saturday.  By the time Saturday afternoon rolled around I was in a fair bit of pain and having trouble walking.

I went to see my podiatrist this afternoon with a swollen foot and in considerable pain and was told that I have either a stress fracture or a tendon/soft tissue injury and am now off to have x-rays and an ultrasound tomorrow morning to find out exactly what I have done.  Currently I am sitting on the couch with an ice pack on my foot and am missing being at my Kung Fu class more than I thought I would. The best case scenario would most likely see me on complete rest for a least a couple of weeks.  Not happy Jan!I want to go punch the crap out of things!

However, something good did happen this afternoon, I was referred to as a “sports person”.  That’s right, old former couch potato me is a sports person according to my podiatrist who told me that as sports person that I should expect these types of injuries from time to time.  Part of me is kinda chuffed to have a bona fide sports injury, the rest of me is pissed off that this sports injury is going to keep me from actually doing any sport.

It is going to be a long recovery period.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 responses to “Exercise is dangerous for you

  1. Hang in there Riayn, and let it heal so you don’t have to go through it again.

  2. Yes, those of us in our 30s have to be careful with these kinds of injuries so that you don’t get on a merry-go-round of repetitive stress injury. I have ridden this one a few times, and it is no fun! But it is how I have gotten myself into some other interesting sports– by trying to find things I still can do while I’m waiting for my _______ to heal. Thats how I got into boxing! Put em up…….