I did Joshie and now I have carpet burns on my knees

I have huge red carpet burns on my knees and Joshie is to blame.

But before you think I have gone straight and am having an affair, Joshie isn’t just some guy, he is a CrossFit Hero workout.

Joshie was a 23 year old solider who was killed in Afghanistan in 2007 and today’s WOD was named in honour of him.  It is a bitch of a workout.

As prescribed it is;

Complete three rounds for time of:
40 pound Dumbbell snatch, 21 reps, right arm
21 L Pull-ups
40 pound Dumbbell snatch, 21 reps, left arm
21 L Pull-ups

Not being anywhere near that fit, since the workout is designed to tax an elite athlete, I did a scaled version.

Complete three rounds for time of:

6.5 pound (3kg) Dumbbell snatch, 15 reps, right arm

15 Reduced load pull-ups

6.5 pound (3kg) Dumbbell snatch, 15 reps, left arm

15 Reduced load pull-ups

Now a reduced load pull-up is when you have an Olympic barbell at chest height and you get underneath it with your body straight and do pull-ups with your legs supporting some of your weight.  Now our workout area is carpeted, and I did 90 pull-ups in total that had me scrapping my knees on the carpet.  Thus I have some impressive carpet burns which are really starting to really hurt now.

Joshie is to blame.

BTW, I did today’s WOD in 17:56 minutes and it damn near killed me.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 responses to “I did Joshie and now I have carpet burns on my knees

  1. Wow good on you. I am impressed. Way to go Joshie!!