Doing the 30 Day Shred

After doing a month of WiiFit I wanted to move onto something more challenging so I can mix up my exercise routine so I got a copy of Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred.  The DVD is divided into three workouts; Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3.  All three levels are broken up into cycles of 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio and 1 minute of abs  combined to make a 20 minute workout, which including warm ups and cool downs takes 27 mins to complete.  The idea is to do this workout every single day and if you do the DVD says you will lose 20 pounds.  I’m skeptical about losing 20lbs in 30 days, but after doing the level 1 workout for the first time, this DVD will definitely deliver some weight loss results as well as some nice muscle tone.

I was actually surprised I made it the whole way through Level 1 without stopping.  The push-ups were my main problem area as I just can’t do the proper ones so I had to do the beginner’s modified version.  Also, I only had my 1kg dumbbells nearby and I really think I should be using my 2kg ones to really get into it.

I will try to do it every day for 30 days moving my way up through the levels just to see what results I can get, though I doubt I will lose 20 pounds.  Has anyone else tried the 30 day shred?  If so, what results did you see and did you do it every day for 30 days?

If you are interested in purchasing 30 Day Shred from Amazon please click here.  Your purchase will help this site keep running.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 responses to “Doing the 30 Day Shred

  1. It was the new shorts that helped ;)

  2. Yes, it was the power of the dark blue shiny shorts that got me through the workout.

  3. I did the shred and you can read all about it on my blog 3mths.wordpress.com, if you are interested. I did all 30 days but not in a row – your body needs to rest to rebuild. Doing it 30 days straight would entail succumbing to overtraining and that would be detrimental.

    I was definitely a stronger person afterward, but weightloss? No. I could only presume it was because muscle weighs more than fat. I enjoyed the DVD a lot but it killed me more workouts than not!

  4. I did the Shred for 30 days in a row. You can read about my results (with picutres!) Here:

    http://www.bodiesinmotivation.com/2009/02/i-did-it-or-how-i-survived-the-30-day-shred-with-jillian-michaels/

    Good luck!

  5. Pingback: I hate Wii Fit | Wii Fit for Life

  6. Pingback: The Top 5 Workout DVDs For Weight Loss | Amazing Weight Loss Program

  7. heather Mac

    I just started the 30 Day Shred and consider myself to be a pretty active person. I cancelled my gym membership for the summer and it has rained every day since..lol.. So I borrowed the video from my pregnant sister and really like it. I love that I can do it in 20 mins! Of course, I am not seeing results this early, but bear in mind the video says “up to 20 lbs.” It all depends where you start. When an individual has a lot to lose, they will receive faster results in the beginning and then eventually plateau. Those who are at a moderate fitness level and body type to start will have results, but not quite as drastic. Don’t forget it is all balanced with a healthy diet for optimal results! I know it has been a while since you published this post, I hope you had some great results!!! Take care!