A Personal Best

Rory and I did a personal best today as we walked the entire airport loop walk this evening – a total of 5.14km (3.2 miles).  I have not been able to do this walk since May last year when my legs decided that walking was not something they were required to do and Rory since about 2 months ago when she had spinal surgery to correct a ruptured disc in her neck.  We did it in just 62 minutes, which wasn’t half bad either.  We are both completely buggered, but I am at least happy in my accomplishment whilst Rory has no idea what she has just done except go on a long walk.

It is a good thing I did such a long walk as I have been to two BBQs in the last 24 hours.  Last night was a BBQ at our friend’s Susan’s place with most of my friends in attendance.  It was fantastic to catch up with everyone.  I was proud of myself eating barely any snacks and I only had one helping of dinner and made sure the majority of it was salad.   Today’s BBQ was another friends of ours daughter’s first birthday party and it was full of surprisingly well behaved children.  Again, I was good in that I only had one helping of lunch but I did have some chocolate birthday cake as you can’t go to a 1st birthday and not have some cake.  Well, that is my excuse and I am sticking to it.  Hopefully being well controlled in the food stakes and doing some exercise every day will show up on the scales this week.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 responses to “A Personal Best

  1. That is AWESOME!

    My God woman, I am so proud of you.

    You ROCK!

    Give yourself a huge hug from me.

  2. Thanks so much Kelley. I am feeling pretty proud of myself this evening.

  3. Oh, I’m so happy for you! It’s so hard. I’m trying to walk at lunch, even in the bitter cold. And of course there’s always the Wii. I played tennis for 30 min. this morning and will put another hour in (on and off) throughout the day. I lost my mind a little eating yesterday. You’re doing far better than me in that department. But I won’t get on the scale for a week, so i don’t depress myself and lose momentum.

    Keep it up girl! I’m sooooooo rooting for you.

    • Kathy: Thanks. How is the WiiFit going for you? Have you set it up yet? I am impressed that you are walking at lunch during the winter. That is a major achievement!
      Rah: Thanks.

      I also did a 5km walk this morning. Two 5km in 13 hours. It feels so good to be able to do it. I just have to be careful not to overdo it.

  4. i am majorly impressed :o) YAY YOU!