Can Reduced Sugar Intake Cause Bad Moods?

Macro photograph of a pile of sugar (saccharose)
Image via Wikipedia

If you are me then the answer to that question is, hell yes!  The past two days, I have cut out having my breakfast glass of cranberry & blueberry juice and my morning bottle of Ice Green Tea, thus cutting my daily intake of sugar by about 50g.  It is a good thing for me to do, but I have been in the foulest mood.  I am grumpy, crabby and argumentative.  I feel sorry for everyone who has had to deal with me. Nothing else has been going on. Work has been okay besides the usual minor irritant, but even that irritant can be amusing at times.  I can’t think of anything else that has changed except that I am consuming less sugar.

I did a quick Google search on whether a reduced sugar intake can cause bad moods and every article I read says the complete opposite. Apparently consuming sugar makes you cranky and depressed.  This article does admits that the first few days of no sugar were rough and then things got better, so maybe that is what is happening to me – I am going through sugar withdrawal.  Of course, the sugar company doesn’t believe that you can be addicted to sugar, which is just complete bullocks.  Why do chocolate, cake and soft drinks taste so good then??  Of course we are all addicted to sugar.

So, I want to publicly apologise to everyone who has been exposed to my sugar withdrawal symptoms.  Hopefully, I will be back to normal before heading back to work on Monday morning.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 responses to “Can Reduced Sugar Intake Cause Bad Moods?

  1. I think that any significant change in diet can alter our body chemistry for a little bit while we adjust.

    I’m sure you’ll be back to normal soon

  2. I hope I adjust soon cause I really don’t like being in a cranky mood.
    Also, I work doing IT support and you can’t afford to be cranky to your clients.