New Year’s Resolutions

Sydney New Years Eve Fireworks 2007
Image by Christopher Chan via Flickr

It is New Year’s Eve and 3 hours away from midnight. I am sitting at home covered in spots with a sleeping beagle lying next to me on the couch and a documentary about landslides playing on the TV.  I have been thinking about 2008 and it was truly a bitch of a year.  I had major health problems and spent a large part of the year needing mobility aids to help me walk.  Fortunately, I found a wonderful rheumatologist who was able to prescribe medication that has given me my mobility back.  On the career side of things, I have discovered that I am really good at my job and I do enjoy it.  I had to suffer a bad manager who made me seriously consider leaving to the point where I actually meet with recruiters to find a new job. Thankfully a couple of months ago, my manager was moved to another department where she can still make my life hell but at least I am not sitting 6 feet away from her and she no longer can micromanage me.

So what are the things I want to achieve in 2009?

1. Worry less

2.  Get fit and improve my health

3.  Get organised

4. Do or see something new at least once a month

5.  Just enjoy life

What are your new year’s resolutions/goals?  Do you think you will be able to achieve them?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Top Seven New Year Resolutions « ZOKUOMTHAWN

  2. It seemed 2008 sucked for a lot of people. Hope 2009 is a better year for you.
    (I followed a link from Kelley’s blog)

  3. Corymbia, thanks for stopping by. You are right about 2008 sucking for most people, almost everyone I have spoken to has had a pretty crappy 2008. Here is to a better 2009.