Why I need to take my meds on time

REM Sleep. EEG highlighted by red box. Eye mov...
Image via Wikipedia

I am on two different medications for my fibromyalgia and they work by helping relieve my neuropathic pain and by helping me sleep.  With fibromyalgia the sleep cycle is screwed up either you take ages to fall asleep or you keep waking up multiple times during the night – I am ‘blessed’ with both these problems.  Therefore to get a good night’s sleep I must take my medication between 5:30pm and 7:30pm – usually I take it about 6:30pm.

However, last night being completely out of my routine by only having a half day at work, I forgot to take my meds and only remembered at 8:44pm.  Usually if I take my meds at 6:30pm, I am ready for bed by 9:30pm – 10pm, I crawl into bed and read for a little while and then fall asleep pretty quickly.  Last night, I went to bed, read for a while and whilst my body was ready for bed having done an impressive 50 mins on my WiiFit my brain was awake.  I seriously have no idea how I used to cope with this.  My body is going, “Come on, let’s get some sleep”, whilst my brain was like an ADHD kid, “Hey have you thought about this?  And what about this? This is really interesting, isn’t it?”  Two hours later, I finally fall asleep.  It is a good thing it is Christmas today and I don’t have to go to work cause I would have never made it out of bed this morning.

I still have no idea how I used to live like this and thought it was normal.  One night of my old sleep issues and I thought I was going insane.  I have now set my digital watch’s alarm to 6:30pm so that I will remember to take my meds on time during the holidays.  I refuse to go through another night of that crap.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 responses to “Why I need to take my meds on time

  1. Pingback: ezineaerticles » Blog Archive » Why I need to take my meds on time « Rainbow of Chaos

  2. I don’t have the medical issues you have babe, but I understand this!

    Last night I had the whole body asleep, eyes glued shut, head whirring with a million things going on and I very nearly went insane.

    Hope setting your alarm does the trick and enables you to have restful nights again.