Getting ready to get WiiFit

Miis as depicted in Wii Fit.
Image via Wikipedia

Christmas comes early in my family due to the fact that travelling to my hometown on Christmas Day is nearly impossible.  Therefore we celebrate it about two weeks early, which means I get my Christmas presents early as well.  This year Lela and I got a Wii plus the WiiFit, which I am extremely excited about.

I set it up when we got home last night and weighed in and got my WiiFit age – 41.  If they actually measured how fit I was, my WiiFit age would be up in the 80s. However due to a hitch in the board where it couldn’t measure my weight for a while, I managed to get myself a goal of reducing my BMI to 0 over the next two weeks.  Somehow I don’t think I am going to meet that goal.

This evening I did my very first workout and was pleased to see that my WiiFit age has dropped to 36.  We won’t mention the weight gain between last night and this evening.  I am putting it down to the fact I was wearing heavier clothes. Do you think anyone will buy that?

I clocked up 35 minutes this evening, but the fact it took me almost an hour to do that is slightly annoying.  Still the exercises are fun enough that I can forgive that for now.

I would love to lose about 15kg, but since both my medications have the side effect of weight gain, I am not sure how likely that is going to be.  Still I want to increase my fitness and get back my strength which I think will help me deal with my fibromyalgia better.  I get a good chuckle out of the WiiFit telling me that I am stiff or my legs are shaking.  Being stiff and shaking is my natural state of being thanks to my pal fibro.  I am interested in how much I can improve that using the WiiFit. Hopefully my balance will improve because at the moment it is atrocious.

I am going to try to do a WiiFit workout three times a week plus walk the dogs for 30 minutes 5 times a week.  Hopefully that will be an okay level of exercise to gradually increase my fitness without putting into a flare.  Is anyone else using WiiFit?  How are you finding it and what are your fitness goals?  I would love to get some WiiFit buddies to help keep me motivated.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 responses to “Getting ready to get WiiFit

  1. Yep! Bought a WiiFit for my husband and me for Christmas. We haven’t hooked it up yet, and by that I mean HE hasn’t hooked it up yet. I’m excited to get started. I have tons of weight to lose and I’ve heard great things about the Fit making it possible to keep motivated. I hope it’s as fun as it sounds. I’m afraid it’ll tell me I have to drop 20 lbs before even using it!

  2. I’ve had a Wii Fit since early July. I did it fairly regularly when I was stuck at home all summer studying for my prelim that I ultimately failed. Never really did lose any weight, but my balance improved and got my Wii Fit age down to early 20s (I’m 25). My meds make it hard for me to lose weight too, and I haven’t done it in awhile due to my torn ligament in my wrist. But need to start in the new year, so would love to have a Wii Fit buddy!

  3. Kathy: When you first start using the WiiFit you have to weigh in and then it makes your Mii resemble your weight. It is really disconcerting to see your Mii blimp out, but it is a good motivator as well. I want a skinny Mii! Let me know when you start using the WiiFit.

    Melissa: Well done getting your WiiFit age down so low. That is a great achievement. Hopefully your wrist is on its way to being healed and you can get back on the WiiFit again. Let me know when you start using it and I will try and keep you motivated.

  4. Sounds like loads of fun. My daughter is aobut to get one too – shoosh……

  5. Very cool! We don’t have a Wii but I’d love to try the Wii fit.

  6. Pingback: How does Wii Fit fit into your workout? - Examiner.com | by The … | Wii Fit for Life

  7. Pingback: The Coupon Coup: Maternity Mommies : A Meme is Born | Wii Fit for Life