Mowing the lawn with Fibromyalgia

Lawn Care

Image by neekatnite via Flickr

Our back lawn is overgrown.  There is a real danger of losing the beagle in it and finding the poop every morning is becoming a real challenge.  Lela is off riding in the MS Gong Ride today so I decide that I will mow the lawn.  This is a major mistake.  We have a push (reel) mower and whilst our yard isn’t big, my body isn’t up to it, but I persist.  I take breaks every couple of minutes and I eventually get it all done.  The lawn looks like it has had a bad haircut and I haven’t done the edges, but it is short now and we can see the beagle once more.

My body hates me, but I ignore it and I go ahead and do the vacuuming, swept the floors and cleaned the bathroom and kitchen.  Oh and there is those four loads of laundry that I knocked over as well.

I am in major pain now and I know it is all my fault.  I have never learnt the art of pacing.  Once I start cleaning, I prefer just to get it all done and then I can go rest without the spectre of undone housework hanging over me.  It is stupid of me to overdo it and I pay the price.  However, my house is clean and the lawn has been mowed.  I am not sure if it is worth it though.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 responses to “Mowing the lawn with Fibromyalgia

  1. Oh, ouch! You poor thing.
    Hang in there, relax and spoil yourself now that the chores are done!

  2. You are naughty.

  3. PLEASE take care of yourself!! I understand your mental thought process, as I share it. But seriously, the housework isn’t going anywhere…….so PACE yourself and then you won’t be hurting later!!!

    I never follow my own good advice…..I hope you will though. *wink*

    Jeannie

  4. I have this constant temptation to get going while the going is good and always ended up overdoing things then not being able to do anything for a week. Frustrating.

    hope you recover quickly.

  5. Aww! Take a break and put your feet up. If you close your eyes for a while you won’t even see the mess:)

  6. I’m sure you’ve tried everything, but I have two friends who have chronic pain issues and they both SWEAR by Xango. I’ve never personally tried it, but I’m close friends with these two people. I don’t know, maybe it would be worth a whirl! They sell it in the stores in Utah, but it’s made here. You may have to get it on-line elsewhere. A/nyway, best wishes to you, your lawn, and your beagle!

  7. Bettina: Glad to see I am not the only one that overdoes it when they are having a good day.

    Jeannie: I know I have to pace myself, I really do. However, it is a hard lesson to learn.

    Sandy: You will be pleased to know I spent the rest of Sunday doing nothing.

    Tara: Thanks for the tip about Xango, but I think I will give the overpriced fruit juice a miss and save my money for medication that is proven to work.