Goodreads

Smaller libraries can sometimes be found in pr...

Image via Wikipedia

If you are a bookworm like I am and love social networking, then check out Goodreads.  It is a site where you can list all the books you have read, write reviews of them, see what books your friends are reading and chat to others with the same taste in books that you have.

I am loving entering my books onto Goodreads, although I have only got a fraction of them up there.  I have decided just to add them as I read them now or else I will be entering books on there for days. I also love seeing what other people are reading as it is a great way to find new authors.  If only books didn’t cost about $30 in this country. How am I supposed to afford all the books I want to read?  Then again, the many bookcases in our house are all full, so I would have nowhere to put all these new books I want to buy anyway.

Is there a book exchange or something like that in Australia?  It would be great to be able to pass books along to people and get a chance to read all the books I want to read but probably might not want to buy.  Unfortunately my local library is not that great for the types of books I want to read.  However, if I ever get interested in Mills & Boons novels I will know where to go.

If you are a member of Goodreads or decide to sign up, then please add me.  I only have two friends on there at the moment so I am feeling a bit unpopular.  Besides, I would really love to see the type of books that you all like to read.  Why yes, I am the kind of person who on visiting someone’s house checks out their bookshelf first.  How did you guess?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 responses to “Goodreads

  1. I keep hearing about this site and am a book fanatic, I must check it out!

    Welcome to the SITStahood! We are THRILLED to have you join us!

    You roll called perfectly!

    Tiffany

  2. Tiffany: Thanks for stopping by. Glad to see I didn’t totally stuff up my first roll call on SITS. :)

  3. So glad you joined SITS! You are going to love it!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I have recently ‘re-discovered’ reading. I am obsessed. I have a long line of books waiting. I just finished the Twilight series (luv-ed it!).

    Do you have any used books stores around there? I moved to a new area a few months ago and just found a little mom & pop used book store. They buy, sell and trade new and used. I love it!

  4. That is such a great idea. I love to read – for some reason I have not had any time lately – stinks!

  5. thanks for stopping by! laddy is doing ok…we have him in with the smaller horses and i think he is adjusting…although for the first day he walked up and down the fence neighing. made me sad.

    i love reading. i can’t read enough. i have so many books we aren’t quite sure what to do with them all… :)

  6. Sassystephanie: We have quite a few used bookstores nearby. In fact one street has about three of them on it. Used bookstores are a dangerous place for me, I come out with way too many books that I just don’t have room for. Still I guess, if I actually sold the books I no longer wanted to keep I would have room for more books.

    Breanne: I had the same problem, books I wanted to read and no time to do it. Now, I reserve 30 mins before I go to sleep for reading. It is a nice wind down from the day.

    Wolf: Glad to hear Laddy is doing okay and is adjusting to life without Teddy. As for all your books, maybe some new bookcases are needed. :)