Please Look After This Bear

It is 50 years ago today that Paddington Bear was first introduced to the world in Michael Bond’s book “A Bear Called Paddington” which told the story of a bear left on Paddington Station with a note that read “Please look after this bear. Thank you”.  The bear was found by the Brown family and named Paddington.  The 11 books in the series recount the adventures of a bear living with the Brown family in England who is constantly getting into trouble and loves to eat marmalade sandwiches and drink cocoa.

I adored the Paddington Bear books when I was a child and watched the BBC television series that screened in the 1980s. Therefore, when Lela and I were in London in 2005 and found ourselves in Paddington, we did what all self-respecting Paddington Bear fans do and brought ourselves a Paddington Bear and took photos of it at Paddington Station.

Happy 50th Birthday Paddington Bear!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 responses to “Please Look After This Bear

  1. Did you know that Jeremy Clarkson’s mother actually started the whole Paddington Bear toy industry as a small cottage thing for her kids?

    If someone did that now they’d get sued.

  2. Nyssa: I read that in the Wiki article. It used to be that someone making toys out of characters in a book you wrote was a sincere form of flattery and proof that you have made it.
    So sad that this is no longer the case.

  3. I’d forgotten how great Paddington was! I used to have that series — I wonder if it’s still at my mother’s somewhere. Either way, I may have to go back and re-read them.

  4. Yeah, it is :-(

    But, then, I’m glad she was able to do what she did. I still love Paddington, and I love just looking at the little stall at the station when ever my travels take me there.

    (Wondering if I should do up a little package for the little uns I know now in Aus…)

  5. Nyssa: I think the little uns here would love their own Paddington Bear.

  6. I love Paddington! I own all the books and reread them every couple of years! Good times…

  7. Aww he’s so cute. I don’t remember if I read his stuff growing up but I def remember hearing about him :)