Retiring Gregory

After my appointment with The Mini Cattle Prod of Pain, I paid a visit to the physiotherapy department to talk about the joint pain I have in my shoulder, elbow and wrist when I use my cane.  They said that with my joint problems, a cane was probably not the ideal mobility aid to be using just because I am putting all my weight on one arm.

Therefore, I have had to retire my cane that is affectionately (and sometimes not so affectionately) called Gregory and replace him with a pair of forearm crutches.

I already have a love hate relationship with my crutches.  I love walking when using them.  I feel my balance is better and walking is just easier.  However, they are cumbersome buggers to be dealing with when getting on and off buses and when I am using them I don’t have any hands to hold stuff with.  Any tips on how to overcome these difficulties will be much appreciated.

However, now I need a name for my crutches.  With Gregory I liked being able to say, “let me grab Gregory and I am ready to go” instead of ” let me get my cane and I am ready to go”.  I really don’t want to be saying “let me get my crutches and I am ready to go”,  it just makes me sound disabled.  Yes I know that in some sense I am, but I don’t want to admit it, okay?

So, what shall I call my lovely new forearm crutches?  Should I have one name to refer to both of them or should they be named separately?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
8 responses to “Retiring Gregory

  1. How about the names of a set of twins you like… or hate?

  2. *laugh* Now I have evil thoughts of calling my crutches Mary-Kate and Ashley.

  3. Benson and Stabler.

  4. Waldorf and Stadler?

    “The lads”

    Zeus and Apollo (Magnum PI reference)

  5. Kerry and Kim. As in Kerry Weaver, ER.

  6. How about a comedy team?
    I’m not up on whose big in your part of the world.
    I guess if I were n the same sitiation I’s call mine Cheech & Chong.
    Sending good vibes your way from New York,
    Frances

  7. Niles and Frasier.

    (Hey… my cats are named Daphne and Maris.)

  8. Bonnie and Clyde?
    Gin and Tonic?
    Abbott and Costello?
    Jack and Jill?
    Barnum and Bailey?
    Gilbert and Sullivan?
    Peanut Butter and Jelly?
    Thelma and Louise?