The Incredibly True Adventure of Two Geeks in Love

Xena and GabrielleWhen asking for suggestions on what to blog about, Naomi commented “Y’know, I’d love to hear about how you and Lelak met and got together. I don’t remember reading anything of the sort so far.”

Well, kids, gather around whilst I tell you the story of how Lelak and I met.

The year was 1998, I was in my third year of University and the TV show Xena had gained a cult following. Being a geek, I was a member of this wonderful cult following and was a member of a mailing list called DUX – Down Under Xenites. On April 12, 1998, the DUX mailing list decided to have a fan meeting at the King St Cafe, but we would meet at McDonald’s first as that’s the place everyone knew. I get really nervous meeting people I don’t know, but I decided to go along. This would be one of the best decisions of my life.

Lelak, at the time, wasn’t a member of DUX, but her flatemate’s friend Rox was, so Lelak got dragged along to the gathering since she watched Xena anyway.

We all meet up at McDonald’s. So, I can truthfully say, I met my girlfriend at McDonald’s. The initial gathering had an attendance of about 16 people. Fate had it that I sat next to Lelak. The lunch progressed, we ate, we talked, we laughed. After the lunch finished, Lelak and Sumac invited people back to their place to watch some Xena episode. Of the 16 people at the lunch, 10 of us went to Lelak and Sumac’s. As Lelak informed me after we started dating, that when Sumac asked if she invited people back to their place, she only agreed because I was coming. Aww… :)

Of those 10 people that spent the rest of the day and well into the night watching Xena episodes, 9 of us become really close friends. In fact, we are still friends today. But of course, you are here for the romance story. Well, at the time all this was happening, I was firmly in the closet and Lelak had a girlfriend. It took two years of us being friends for us to finally get together. I did kiss Lelak way back in about September 1998. She was the first girl I ever kissed and the first person with whom kissing made sense with. But, we still didn’t get together. When I finally came out of the closet in November 1999, the first person I dated was our mutual friend V. It was a short lived relationship with us deciding that we were better friends and we actually became flatmates a short time later.

Lelak and I officially got together sometime in July 2000. We are not really sure of the date. It followed months of flirting, hand holding and secret kisses. Lelak was dating someone else during our flirting period. That’s right, I was the other woman. Once we finally got together, it was your typical lesbian dating story where there was only a short dating period before we moved in together. Then again, we had been close friends for over two years before we ever dated so it is not like we barely knew each other. Again, this is what lesbians do, our dating circle is our circle of friends. It becomes very interesting at times.

Almost eight years later, we are still together. Still happy and still in love. We actually worked out that we knew each other before we ever meet. Way back in 1994, we were both on the Australian X-Files list. I actually printed out some of Lelak’s emails because I found them so funny. Yes, my friends, I think it was fate that brought us together. That and the love of sci-fi/fantasy TV shows.

*The title of the post is taken from a famous lesbian film called “The Incredibly True Adventure of Two Girls in Love”

11 responses to “The Incredibly True Adventure of Two Geeks in Love

  1. That’s adorable.
    Y’know How hard it is to find love.
    Most are either confused Or just want sex.
    But That really is cute.

  2. Hi Riayn, what a great story. And beautifully written. James

  3. That’s a lovely story, thanks for sharing it with us :)

    Definitely think it was meant to be, if you had a connection from so long ago.

  4. Dominique: Thank you. I hope that one day you will find someone who loves you for you and not someone you just wants sex or to experiment with their sexuality.

    James: Thanks :)

    Leigh: We like to think that destiny had a little part in our getting together.

  5. What a fabulously romantic story! Much better than mine where I met MPS while I was holding back my friends hair while she vomited in the gutter… noice.

  6. Kelley: Whilst your story definitely does not fall under romantic, it definitely falls under memorable and a brilliant story to tell the grandkids, but probably not until they become teenagers.

  7. Awwww… :-) Thanks for sharing, Riayn, it’s a gorgeous story. Definitely sounds as though you two were drawn together.

  8. I always love a good geek love story!

  9. Isn’t is funny how things work out. Congrats on being brave and see how it turned out!? One need only step out one’s door to enjoy the wonderments of life. Very nice story and nice to finally be happy and comfortable with yourself in life!

  10. Congratulations to both of you. If there are any geeks out there still looking for love, you should check out the new dating and social networking site for geeks at http://www.geekplusone.com.