Creating My Second Life

Second Life AvatarSince I first heard about Second Life, I have always wanted to go and find out what all the buzz was about. Unfortunately, my old desktop computer was just too old to run the program, it didn’t meet the minimum requirements, let alone the recommended one. Since I now have a brand new laptop, I decided to jump on and see what it was all about.

My first impressions was that it was easy to use, but I have lots of experience playing virtual world games like The Sims. I imagine it would a very different experience to someone who didn’t play computer games. There was lots of people in the newbie area, so there was always someone around to ask questions of or to answer questions for. Once I completed all the tutorials, it was time to be unleashed on Second Life itself. This is where I became totally lost as I had no idea what I wanted to do and I didn’t know a single person on there. I blundered around about a bit and moved from place to place, but really couldn’t get into the vibe of it. I did find a virtual version of Greece complete with the Parthenon and museums that was very cool. I also stumbled onto ABC Island, that had the potential to be really cool, but lacked people. I think I was the only one there. However, I just had the overwhelming feeling of being extremely lost. I imagine it would be fantastic if you knew where you were going or was on there to attend a particular event. I can see the vast educational and community benefits of the place, but as a total newbie with no knowledge of what was going on, it was very overwhelming.

Still, I am not going to give up on it. Instead I am going to do some research of what is on offer and find the things that interest me. Next time I enter Second Life, I hope to have more of an idea of where I want to go.

My Second Life name is Riayn Lin. So, if you see me on there, please say hi. I have included a screenshot of my little avatar. I had great difficulties creating one that looks halfway decent. The clothes and hairstyle I like, but the face, well, it is not unkind to say that I look a little slow. Then again, I guess that it a good representation of me on Second Life at the moment. The idiot who is wandering around with no idea what she is doing.

7 responses to “Creating My Second Life

  1. I’ve wondered about Second Life myself. I don’t have a lot of patience if I have to learn too much up front. I usually want to just jump right in. Also, I’m severely directionally-challenged in real life. I imagine it’d be no different in a virtual one!

    I like your avatar. She looks hip and stylish!

  2. Kathy: There is not too much to learn when you jump in and also getting around is just a matter of pressing arrow keys, so if you are curious about Second Life, you should just jump in and give it a go.

    Can you tell I am trying to covert people to Second Life? :)

  3. I’ve wondered about Second Life too… but once long, long ago I was well and truly addicted to talkers (imagine Second Life in text format :-D ) and I wonder if my marriage could survive yet another computer-based obsession… hmmm.

    I had to giggle at ‘I look a little slow’ :-) At least it’s only your avatar, some people have to cope with that IRL too!

  4. If you’re looking to make some friends in world (as we say), come to the Blarney Stone pub in Dublin region weekday mornings from 8:00 to 10:00 SLT (Pacific Time). There’s a daily Morning Coffee with hosts and regulars that will make you feel right at home.

    It’s liable to be crowded tomorrow, logically, since it’ll be St. Patrick’s Day; but give it a shot anyway, and look for Harper Ganesvoort. If I don’t remember this blog article or you, just hit me up the side of the head. (I’d say look for the woman dressed all in green, but that’s liable to be the default costume tomorrow [grin].)

    Peace be to you.

  5. Naomi: In my youth, I was addicted to MUDs, basically text versions of roleplaying games. I spent days and days on them and my uni work paid the price. I have set a rule for myself that I will only play SL on weekends when I have nothing better to do to stop myself becoming too addicted.

    Harper: Thanks for the invite! I will only be on SL on weekends, but I will look you and the Blarney Stone pub up the next time I am in the world.

  6. Riayn – once upon a time that would’ve been a great solution for me. These days… on the weekend I’d be grumbling at the baby interrupting me :-D

  7. second life is fun, I’ve been enjoying it for over a year now and at times it gets boring, but I keep coming back.

    to make over your Av without spending too much cash, take a look here : http://slfreestyle.blogspot.com