The weather – it’s a changin’

The weather here in Sydney is all over the place. Last night it was extremely humid. It was one of those nights that you go to bed stark naked and whilst lying in a pool of your own sweat you wonder if it is possible to remove all of your skin cause you know you would be cooler if your organs were exposed to the air. Tonight, on the other hand, I had a hot shower and am in my long sleeved PJs.

Storm season in Sydney

Welcome to storm season in Sydney! I just love storm season, mainly because it is the only time of the year where the weather does something interesting. The weather junkie in me loves tracking storm fronts on the BOM radar. I love the visual display of lightening, the pounding of the thunder and watching the rain come bucketing down whilst I am somewhere dry. Most people hate it, but I can’t get enough. For some strange reason, storms soothe me and at the moment I am in need of soothing.

8 responses to “The weather – it’s a changin’

  1. It’s crazy weather all right. I’m with you, I love a good thunder storm – a glass of wine or port, a prime seat on the balcony and let the show begin!

  2. How do the dogs feel, though?

  3. I love thunderstorms too. And that’s a great photo you’ve posted – it looks like the roiling clouds just before the giant UFO breaks through!

  4. Meg – I would love to sit on a balcony with a glass of wine and watch a thunderstorm. That sounds like the perfect way to spend an afternoon.

    Fran – The dogs are handling the weather okay. Fortunately, storms don’t scare them too much and they have their shed outside that they can go and hide in when the weather turns nasty. However, they are not enjoying the heat.

    Mr Teufel – Unfortunately, I can not take credit for the photo. I grabbed it off the BOM website.

  5. One of my favourite Christmas memories is our first Christmas as a couple. Laying on a mattress on the sunroom floor watching a spectacular lightning display out the french doors, drinking Champagne.

    I love a good storm. As long as the power doesn’t go out!

  6. wow…that is impressive looking…i wish we had that here…we just have ice and snow…and more ice
    kerith

  7. Kerith – I would love to live where it snows. In fact, it is a dream of mine to spend at least a year in a country where I would get to experience a snowy winter. Snow is much more exciting than the occasional thunderstorm.

  8. I love a good storm, and I don’t think I am too sad about us missing out on the hot weather.

    I do feel terrible for the people effected by the recent storms in Sydney, thankfully they just missed us but driving through suburb after suburb nearly every house with roof damage and a trashed car in the driveway :(