Feeding the Feed

On Monday I posted about the number of subscribers I had to my feed. At that point, I had three wonderful people who had signed up to receive my blog on their blog readers. By today, that number has sky rocketed to 9, which means I am only one subscriber away from hitting the big 1 0.
I want to thank those six wonderful people who took the risk this week to sign up. I realise that I am still trying to find my voice and that my blog is very much a work in progress. Therefore, it means a lot that people are willing to join me on my journey and suffer through my experimentations.

To get a better idea of what type of posts people enjoy the most, I have created a poll which is under my profile on the right hand side of the screen.
Please vote and let me know which topics most appeal to you. As always, I encourage comments, so if you have any suggestions, please write and let me know. I want you all to be brutally honest about what you like and don’t like about this blog.

Edit: The number of subscribers has just dropped to seven. I guess that means I am now 3 away from the big 1 0.

4 responses to “Feeding the Feed

  1. Hang in there, it takes a while! The subscriber numbers do tend to fluctuate, so it’s hard to pinpoint a “real” number. I find they usually dip over the weekend – there must be a lot of people that read their feeds at work.

  2. So does Feedburner track the number of people who have downloaded your feed that day or does it track the number of people who have put your feed into their reader?
    I have so much to learn about blogging.

  3. Hi Riayn

    wOOt over 20! It’s kind of complicated – Darren has probably done the best job of explaining:

    http://www.problogger.net/archives/2007/08/16/why-does-my-feedburner-subscriber-count-fluctuate/

    Say someone subscribes in Bloglines, but doesn’t actually fire up their reader for a day, then as I understand it, they are not counted as a subscriber until they next fire it up – feedburner doesn’t register them because they haven’t asked for the feed that day.

  4. Thank you so much for the link. Darren did a fantastic job in explaining the fluctuating feedburner numbers.

    The reason my feed numbers have risen so sharply is that I put my feed on Live Journal, which is where I used to blog and a lot of my friends from there have signed up. They much prefer being able to read my blog from their LJ friends list than coming and visiting my blog.