Too much of a good thing?

Yahoo and Google have announced that they are going to turn their web email services into a social networking tool.
Is it only me who is left wondering why everything on the internet has to be a social networking tool these days?

I know social networking is very popular at the moment, just look at the success of Facebook and My Space. They are great tools and I am very fond of Facebook and it’s ability to put me back in contact with people I haven’t seen in over 10 years.
However, I don’t want my entire internet experience to be a Facebook rip-off. I don’t want to be in contact with my social network 24/7. When I check my email I don’t want to be told how strong a relationship I have with the sender. I think I can work that one out on my own, thanks.

I am predicting that social networking is going to hit a saturation point extremely soon. It is my belief that people will not want to have technology dictate what kind of relationship they have with others. Then again, I think Australian Idol is the worst way to produce music worth listening to, but that hasn’t stopped it running for about five years and attracting an massive audience.

Comments are closed.