Lela and I went wild over our Digger’s Club seed catalogue and ordered a whole stack of seeds.
Things we will be attempting to grow in our garden are:
CAPSICUM MINI SWEET MIX
CARROT MINI ROUND
GROUND CHERRY AUNT MOLLY
EGGPLANT LISTADA DI GANDIA
ROCKMELON MINNESOTA MIDGET
SILVERBEET FIVE COLOUR MIX
TOMATO AMISH PASTE
TOMATO TEN COLOUR HEIRLOOM MIX
WATERMELON, MOON & STARS RED
SEBAGO ORGANIC SEED POTATO
COMFREY
CUCUMBER, MEXICAN SOUR GHERKIN
KALE, TUSCAN BLACK
LETTUCE, ITALIAN LOLLO MIX
(It is in caps cause I copied it from the order form. I didn’t want to type it all out).

The massive amount of tomatoes is because Lela is (and I quote) “frivolous” and wants to grow as many different colored tomatoes as she can. I have no idea why we are growing Mexican sour gherkin cucumbers or ground cherries either.
My frivolous seed purchase is the Moon and Stars watermelon simply because the skin of the watermelons looks like the night sky.
Now to work out where we are going to plant them all and when they need to be planted etc.

Made yet another trip to Bunnings today to buy some plastic wire mesh to put around our olive tree and passionfruit vine to stop Caleb trampling on them, plus I brought a mushroom growing kit as well. So if all things go well, we should be growing our own mushrooms in about a month’s time. Also I planted out some more pumpkin seeds as only one of the pumpkin seedlings that missmai_chan gave me looks like it is going to survive. The other one is looking very sick. The sweet alyssum is flowering away though.

If that was not domestic enough, I made a batch of pumpkin scones to use up some pumpkin that was about to go nasty in the fridge and Lela is making a whole heap of pasta sauce out of tomatoes that were about to go the same way as the pumpkin.

Our experiment to worm farm the dog poop hasn’t worked. The worms just can’t get through the amount of crap our dogs produce (which really isn’t all that much). We are going to clean out the poop and start composting food scraps instead. I was glad to see the little worms were still alive as I was afraid that they might have died.

Comments are closed.