I was supposed to start work today at 12pm, but they called whilst I was on the bus to the station and told me it was extremely quiet and not to bother coming in until 2pm. Since I had already left home and was on the bus, I decided to head into the city and wander around.
First stop was the bookstore. I love bookstores. I could spend hours in them and could happily spend my week’s wages on books. I decided to show some restraint and only buy the books I had been planning to buy for some time.. Phillip Pullman’s ‘Ruby in the Smoke’ and ‘The Shadow in the North’. I was extremely tempted by the children’s classic section, many old friends long since lost just sitting on the shelf such as Enid Blyton’s ‘The Faraway Tree’ and well, anything by Enid Blyton, I just loved her as a child. There was also ‘What Katy Did’ and ‘What Katy Did Next’. They didn’t have ‘What Katy Did At School’ or else I probably would have brought them. Yes, I did read and love some tragic books as a child. Did I mention they also had the whole collection of ‘Milly Molly Mandy’ there as well?
After an hour I managed to drag myself away from the bookstore to grab some lunch and then I wandered through Queen Victoria Building (QVB) just because the architecture in there is so beautiful. Shame that most of the shops are the ultra expensive designer labels, but then again QVB also houses the ABC Shop and Lush, so it isn’t all bad. I hit Darrell Lea’s to buy some of their exquisite licorice and I also managed to find some Milka chocolate. I LOVE Milka chocolate and whilst it is available in Australia, it has been elusive. I have been craving it ever since getting home from Europe and haven’t been able to find it.
Finally, it was time to head into work… and they were right, it was quiet. Not much really to do except packing some surgery kits and doing some cleaning. It was a very easy five hour shift.

Comments are closed.