Fingersmith

I have just finished reading ‘Fingersmith’ By Sarah Waters and I am in love with how this woman writes. The twisted plots, the intrigue, the gorgeous Victorian settings and not to forget… lesbians. This is how I have always wanted Victorian mysteries to be. I was hooked by this book from beginning to end and definitely didn’t see any of the plot twists coming. This is rare in a mystery/crime book where the plot twists can usually be spotted a mile away and are unbelievably cliched. You know it is a good book when you get pissed off when the train arrives at your station and you have to put the book down.

I am throughly annoyed with myself for missing the BBC adaptation of this book when it aired in Australia in late July. I think I might have to go and consul myself by buying ‘Tipping the Velvet’. I saw the BBC adaption of this book a few years back, but for some reason never brought the book, even though every time I saw it in the bookstore I thought to myself ‘I must read that’. Obviously, I should listen more to my instincts.

Comments are closed.