Friday

Huge day at work on Friday, especially since (a) I had to work and (b) I was on the morning shift. We had Barney, a guide dog, spend the day with us. He is a gorgeous 5 year old Golden Retriever and he *loves* coming to spend the day at the vet’s. His owner could barely get him to stand still long enough to get his harness off. So, I spent the day with a canine companion closely following me around and trying to help me. Had two groom two incredibly matted cats, Pandora and Tiger. Pandora was a real sweetie, Tiger, on the other hand, was psycho cat from hell. It took both Todd and I to pin him to the table and I had to give the injection wherever I could find cat flesh. Fortunately, the sedation worked and I managed to get him clipped and bath without losing a limb.

On Friday night, we had a work dinner. I must admit I was kinda dreading it, but it ended up being so much fun. It is truly scary the conversation you have when you have present; two vets, three vet nurses, a butcher, a teacher, a car salesman and an Anglican Priest. It almost sounds like a set-up for a joke. I think we scared the poor waiter when we were talking about Kerri taking home an unwanted rabbit for Shane to cook and eat. We then got onto the topic of eating other animals like camel. Truly disturbing conversations. I am so happy that despite the fact that my bosses are deeply religious (one of them is married to a Priest), they have no problems with me being gay whatsoever. I enlightened them all on just where in the world I could legally marry Lela when they commented that I probably didn’t go to many of my friends weddings.

The dinner finished up around 11pm and then I headed to Kelly’s for Sarah’s farewell drinks. It is so hard to believe that she is moving to the UK on Sunday. That really has not sunk in yet.

Today, I have to watch the WNBA playoffs, go and vote, watch CSI and go play basketball. A full day, so I should get on with it.

Comments are closed.