Prac Day

We finally started doing some practical stuff at TAFE today – only taken us since February to get there. We had a sheep’s head to practice inserting an ET tube into its trachea plus chicken drumsticks to practice intramuscular and subcutaneous injections. Also we did some practice suturing on random scraps of materials. Surprisingly, though I have no co-ordination and am terrible at sewing, I managed to accomplish some fairly reasonable stitches much to the envy of my classmates. I really want to learn how to give IV injections and do blood collection, but since we are not allowed to practice on live animals at TAFE, I am guessing this is something I will have to learn how to do at work. We can’t really practice blood collection on something that no longer has blood circulating through its body.

Comments are closed.