Back to Back Shifts

Had the joy of working two shifts back-to back, thanks to a change in rosters. I will now be working Wednesday mornings whilst Kerri, takes over Wednesday afternoons. This means I get to do more surgery and hands on stuff that gets done in the mornings.

When I got to work this morning, there were Liberal campaigners stationed at the entrance to the train station. I gave them a piece of my mind on the Liberal government, the banning of same-sex marriage and the war on Iraq. By the end of my rant, the poor guy who approached me was really regretting his decision.

We had all surgeries today, which was fun – two male dogs to desex and two rats to remove lumps from. I had never done surgery on a rat before, so having two in one day was a real learning experience. The first one had a thyroid tumor whilst the second had a benign mammary tumor. Things do not look good for rat no 1 as we weren’t able to fully remove the lump, pretty much all we did was get a biopsy and staple the rat back up.
I also got to do a clinical examination of a dog including heart rate, respiration rate and temperature. Never taken a dog’s temperature before as we don’t seem to do much of it when preparing for surgery. Fortunately, I didn’t screw things up, which is always good.

Coco, the cat, is still living at the clinic and has made himself at home. He loves being able to roam around the treatment room when things are quiet. His favourite trick is stealing two bags of promotional dog treats we got from a drug company and carrying them back to the cat room where he rips the bag apart and eats the treats. He was very proud of himself, until he got caught.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.