TAFE and movies

Went to TAFE today and managed to score 80% on my test. I am not sure how I did that, but I was pleased with the result. I was also glad to find out that I am not the only one who is finding the course completely useless in helping us do our jobs. Theory is all good and well, but what we really need is for someone to teach us the practical stuff like drawing blood from the view or inserting a catheter. Fair enough work is the place to practice, but school should be where we learn how to do it in the first place. *sigh*
I took myself to the movies tonight to see Michael Moore’s Fahrenheit 9/11. I loved “Bowling for Columbine” and definitely was not disappointed by Fahrenheit. My thoughts about the movie are behind the cut tag, just in case people still haven’t seen it or don’t want to know what I thought about it.

My overall impression was that I loved it. I admire Moore’s ability to simplify the complex issues and present them with a healthy mixture of seriousness, sarcasm and humor. His use of images, or the lack of them in the case of the World Trade Centre, packs a powerful punch and beautifully compliments the script. I found, thanks to my participation in a political email list and my access to unbiased news reports, that nothing in the film was entirely new to me. However, I could appreciate how revelatory to people who get their news soley from biased media.
There was points about the film that did raise my hackles. The main thing was Moore’s exclusion of facts to make his documentary seem every more damning of the Bush administration, when it really didn’t need it. I am talking in particular of the “Coalition of the Willing” segment and Moore complete exclusion of all the countries that provided military assistance in Afghanistan and Iraq. He mentioned countries that supported both “wars”, yet contributed nothing, which initially was rather amusing, but didn’t go on to include those that did. I must admit I found it rather offensive. The whole America in Iraq also did not mention that there was any other troops in Iraq but Americans. Now, I know this was an American film for an American audience, but was it really necessary to continue the lie spewed out by Fox Network and others that the Americans are the only military force over there?? I know full well that Moore is more than aware of Australia’s militarty involvement as he has made numerous comments about our troops serving in Iraq and the lies that the Howard government told the Australian people to get them there.
A part of the film I really identified with was the state troopers in Oregon. Being a member of law enforcement during the aftermath of 9/11 up until 3 months into the Iraq Offensive, I felt their pain of being given no useful information and having limited staff to deal with the increased requirements of their jobs. I recall attending hours of the most stupid security lectures ever, where the fact that we were not to eat any radioactive material that may be sent to us was deemed more important than what to do if an explosive device ended up on your desk. Also daily emails and briefs outlining what color we were on at any given hour also annoyed me immensely and added to my burnout. I actually feel safer working at a vet hospital which is next to a bank that gets robbed on a monthly basis than I did working for the government. Seeing men run past my clinic wearing balaclavas and carrying guns scare me less than those vague threat reports – at least I can see the danger and get out of its way.
This film is definitely high on my mandatory viewing list for anyone living in a “Coalition of the Willing” country and those who care about what happens in our world.

Comments are closed.